The jury for the 5th Building of the Year Created with ALUPROF Systems competition has been revealed

Renowned architects and construction industry leaders will select the most impressive buildings featuring ALUPROF solutions The international Building of the Year Created with ALUPROF Systems competition began accepting entries on May 6th. Its goal is to recognize the most innovative projects using ALUPROF's leading aluminum architectural systems. As is now tradition, the jury will be led by Przemo Łukasik of Medusa Group, a past award winner. He and other distinguished architects will identify the top developments utilizing ALUPROF solutions

The respected architects and industry leaders on the 2024 jury include Maciej Franta, Karol Fiedor, Bożenna Wawrzyniak-Mańko, Elżbieta Dziubak, and Zbigniew Poraj. Przemo Łukasik, co-founder of the acclaimed Medusa Group architectural studio, will chair the jury. Medusa Group's notable projects include the .KTW office complex in Katowice, winner of the 2022 SARP award for Office, Education, or Administration Building, and Hotel Nobu Warsaw, which received three World Luxury Hotel Awards in 2023. The .KTW office complex and Hotel Nobu Warsaw have both previously won awards in the Building of the Year Created with ALUPROF Systems competition, with .KTW taking second place in 2018 and Hotel Nobu Warsaw being the runner-up in 2022.

Maciej Franta represents the new generation of designers. He has been recognized in the prestigious Europe 40 Under 40® program and is known for his innovative and socially responsive designs for residential, public, and commercial buildings. One of his most celebrated projects is Villa Reden in Chorzów, which has won multiple awards, including Best Project 2022 from Archilovers.com. It was also the only building in Poland selected in that category and won the Excellent Architecture award in the German Design Awards. Additionally, it was nominated for the ArchDaily Building of the Year 2022 award.

Another jury member is Karol Fiedor, founder of the Poznań-based design studio CDF Architekci and a member of the Polish Chamber of Architects Council. In 2015, his design for the UBIQ Business Park in Poznań won the SARP Award of the Year in the Special Building category for a project in a conservation area.

Bożenna Wawrzyniak-Mańko of RKW Architektur+ in Düsseldorf will also serve on the jury. RKW’s portfolio includes notable projects like the Polsat Plus Arena Gdańsk and the urban-architectural development of the northern tip of Granary Island in Gdańsk.

Elżbieta Dziubak, Architect General for ALUPROF SA, joins the jury as well, along with Zbigniew Poraj, an independent expert with extensive experience advising the boards of Poland’s largest construction companies.

A prestigious competition recognized in Poland and around the world

Building of the Year Created with ALUPROF Systems is a prestigious competition recognized both in Poland and internationally. Nearly six hundred buildings have been entered in the four competitions held so far, with projects from countries including Poland, the USA, the Czech Republic, the UK, and Belgium. Previous winners include esteemed buildings like the .KTW office complex in Katowice, the University of Warsaw’s Faculty of Modern Languages and Institute of Applied Linguistics, Hotel Nobu Warsaw, the Warsaw Breweries complex, Cedet, Green2day in Wrocław, Sara Kulturhus in Skellefteå, Sweden, and Dock 72 in the Brooklyn Navy Yard.

Elżbieta Dziubak, a long-standing jury member, emphasizes that:

The competition’s growing prestige is evident from the increasing number of entries each year. In 2022, over 200 buildings were entered, many of which are stunning examples of contemporary architecture, winning significant international awards. Renowned architectural practices like Maćków Pracownia Projektowa, Medusa Group, Kuryłowicz & Associates, and AMC - Andrzej M. Chołdzyński are frequently represented among the entrants.

A one-of-a-kind event in conjunction with an international debate on the future of the construction industry

The Building of the Year Created with ALUPROF Systems competition aims to highlight the most intriguing buildings featuring ALUPROF solutions. Projects completed between January 1, 2022, and June 30, 2024, can be entered using the form available at https://future-builders.com/en.... The entry deadline is June 30, 2024. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on October 16, 2024, at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Warsaw. The event will be preceded by the prestigious Future Builders conference, where prominent architects, urban planners, construction industry representatives, sociologists, and other experts from Poland and around the world will discuss the future of architecture in the context of sustainable building. Previous panelists include notable figures such as Bogdan Zaha of Zaha Hadid studio, Álvaro Leite Siza Vieira, Jacek Ewý, Przemo Łukasik, Robert Konieczny, Zbigniew Maćków, and Tomasz Konior. This year’s participants will be announced soon.

For more information, visit https://future-builders.com/en....